Wheeling Park Boys Capture Dick D-Track Classic | News, sports, jobs

City says 7,000 summer jobs are available for Boston youth ages 14 to 18

Dsc 5410

WHEELING – The 20th annual Dick Dei Track Classic was held Saturday under raucous conditions atop friendly town at the complex named for the late Wheeling Park track coach.


Wheeling Park captured the team championship with 83.5 points, which was 4.5 better than runner-up Canon McMillan.

The Patriots had individual champions in Ben Ashmore, Michael Davis, and Isaac Nizami.

Ashmore circled the complex four times in 4:33.26 to win the 1600m. The senior Patriots signed to University of Charleston in South Carolina to run cross country at the NCAA Division I level.

Ashmore also ran the opening leg of the 4×800 relay which cleared the field in a time of 8:30.10. He was followed by Jonah Nizami, Eli Miller and Seth Frank.

Davis jumped 6 feet to win the high jump. He also placed sixth in the long jump.

Wheeling Park is second in the 4×200 and fourth in the 4×100.

Isaac Nizami won the 800 in 2:03.3, Jonah Nizami was third in the 3200, and Frank was third in the 1600.

Brady Amico finished fifth in the 3200. Adam Karman finished fifth in the pole vault and Michael Hogan was fifth in the shot put.

The Wheeling Park 4×400 finished second.

John Marshall’s Ashton Collett finished second in the long jump. Tannen MacNeil finished sixth in the shot put, while Demario White finished fourth in the long jump. Scott Scheinerlin finished eighth in the long jump.

Jyliek Johnson ran Linsly into third in the 100-meter dash.

The Cadets’ Lynn Kindzerski finished eighth in the 110 high hurdles.

John Paul Jones and Micah Kramer finished fifth and sixth, respectively, in the 800.

The Shadyside quartet of Cooper Schemley, Dylan Booth, Nathan Booth and Kayden Baker won the shuttle hurdles in a time of 60.37.

Dylan Booth was second in the 110 high hurdles and sixth in the 300 high. His brother Nathan came in third and fifth, respectively.

Isaiah Filborn finished eighth in the pole vault.

Weir’s Josh Duffy was second in the 3200 and fifth in the 1600, while the Red Riders finished third in the 4×800.

Dom Guede was third in the discus and Anthony Zurbini was eighth in the shot put.


Welling Park came in fifth place with 47 points. Shadyside was sixth with 38 and John Marshall seventh with 29.

Adriana Fazzini of the Patriots discus jumped 114 feet 4 inches for the competition’s best.

Kylie Davis sprinted to third in the 100m and was sixth in the 200m.

The Patriots 4×800 relay team of Avalin Molina, Paige Henbaugh, Alice Newman, and Katie Petticord finished fourth, while Newman finished seventh in the 1600, a place better than Petticord.

Katelyn Smith finished third in the 800 race.

Elle Reasbeck finished fourth in the long jump and tied for fifth in the pole vault with teammate Hailey Hastings.

Sophie Abraham finished sixth in the 100 hurdles and Sadie Renshaw eighth in the discus.

The Patriots 4×400 relay team finished fifth.

John Marshall’s Taylee Sipin was second in the high jump and Maitlyn Miller was third.

Sierra Taylor came third in the long jump and fifth in the 300 hurdles.

Braelynn Adkins was ranked eighth in the long jump.

The Monarchs shuttle hurdles team finished fifth.

Linsley’s Elle Raney was second in the shot put and third in the discus and Helen Cooke sixth in the 200 hurdles. Kaylee Whittington finished sixth in the long jump.

Kenzie Beckett of Shadyside ran a 5:41.30 to beat the field in the 1600 and doubled down with a 2:31.27 to claim the 800. She was second in the 3200.

She was the top scorer.

Lindsey Jobs finished fourth in the long jump, one point ahead of teammate Gabe Koski.

Madeline Thomas finished fifth in the discus.

The Tiger 4 x 100 relay team finished seventh.

Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox