The Kane County Regional Office of Education has announced 36 nominees for Educator of the Year – Shaw Local

Goff Justice announces a $20 million expansion of nursing education programs

GENEVA — The Kane County Regional Office of Education has named 36 nominees for this year’s Teacher of the Year award, officials announced in a press release.

The winners of the various categories will be announced at a gala dinner May 5 at the Q Center in St. Charles. Tickets are available through local school district offices.

“Each year, anticipation builds across all school districts as we prepare to select Teacher of the Year,” Regional Director Ken Patricia Dal Santo said in a press release. Each candidate brings a wealth of experience, dedication and skills. It is an honor for Kane ROE to recognize and celebrate each nominee, making this a momentous occasion for the entire Kane County community.”

This is the forty-seventh year of Kane County Teaching Excellence Honors.

Primary Candidates:

• Cynthia Babich, English/Language Arts teacher at Blackberry Creek in Kaneland District 302

• Elizabeth Riddell, Learning Behavior Specialist in Mill Creek Geneva 304

• Anne Butcher, STEM teacher at Fearn in Aurora West District 129

• Mayra Martinez, bilingual pre-school teacher at Early Childhood Center East Aurora District 131

• Michelle Vargas, bilingual second grader at Brady Elementary School in the 131 East Aurora District

• Melissa McCarter, Spanish teacher at Cambridge Lakes Charter School in Algonquin 300

Middle School Candidates:

• Michael LeForce, Industrial/Building Arts Instructor and Expeditionary Team Leader at Harter Middle School in Kaneland District 302

• Elisa Hunt, Band Director at Herget Middle School in West Aurora District 129

• Kyle Douglas, special education teacher at Waldo Middle School in 131 East Aurora District

Early Career Candidates, which recognizes teachers in their second to fifth year of teaching:

• Jordan Dulowsky, Math teacher at Geneva Secondary School in District 304 Geneva

• Michael Smith, teacher of physical education and modified physical education at Davis Elementary School in 303 St. Charles County

• Madison Mikus, physical education teacher at West Aurora High School in District 129

• Mark Koning is a vocational and technical education teacher at South Elgin High School in Elgin County U-46

High school candidates:

• Carrianne Pozzi, English teacher at St. Charles North High School in St. Charles County 303

• Daniel Bonczyk, math teacher at Kaneland High School in District 302

• Emma Cole, science teacher and activities director at Geneva High School in District 304

• Kimberly Pearlman, English teacher at Batavia High School in Batavia District 101

• Neil Corey, social studies teacher at St. Charles East High School in District 303

• Laurie Palmer, a sheltered English learner teacher at East Aurora High School in District 131

• Jonathan Vedrine, International Language teacher at South Elgin High School in District U-46

• Katherine Hoving, English teacher at Hampshire High School in District 300

• Teresa Tooles, Director of Girls’ Track and Field and Head of Step Team Sponsor at West Aurora High School in District 129

Headmaster Candidates:

• James Richter, Principal of St. Charles East High School in District 303

• Tom Rogers, Principal of Geneva High School, District 304 Principal

• Susan Harkin, Superintendent of District 300

• Anthony Finetico, Assistant Principal of STEM at South Elgin High School in District U-46

• Charles Hiscock, Principal of West Aurora High School in District 129

• Tonetta Davis, principal of O’Donnell Elementary School in District 131

Educational Services Candidates:

• Gina Mitchell, Paraprofessional at Harter Middle School in District 302

• Adam Brill, Chair of Trustees for South Elgin High School in District U-46

• Deborah Mickelson, vocational assistant at Schneider Elementary School District 129

• Marilou Medina, trustee of the East Aurora Extension in District 131

Student Support Candidates:

• Faye Licari, K-12 Education Technology Instructor at Kaneland District 302

• Anne Halsema, social worker at East Aurora High School in District 131

• Dominic Zoddy, Counselor, South Elgin High School, District U-46

Special and narrow candidates:

• Sharon Elgar, science teacher at Aurora Catholic Central High School

• Kristen Stewart, Grade 1 teacher at Emmanuel Lutheran School in East Dundee