SCV Education hosts its 39th Annual Teacher Honors Gala

Goff Justice announces a $20 million expansion of nursing education programs

New release

The Santa Clarita Valley Education Foundation, along with superintendents from Castaic, Newhall, Saugus, Sulfur Springs, and William S. Hart regions, invites the community to help honor the 2022-23 Teachers of the Year at 39y The annual teacher tribute, Academy of the Stars, takes place on Friday, April 28, at the College of the Canyons Performing Arts Center.

“The theme of the event was chosen because we want to give our honored educators the red carpet experience befitting their accomplishments. We like to think of tonight as the equivalent of the Oscars or the Grammys, but for our educators who transcend industry standards,” said Foundation Executive Director Jackie Hartmann in a prepared statement. .

The ceremony is scheduled to start at 6:30 pm, where the honorees will be welcomed by the Saugus High School Centurions Jazz and Salsa Bands.

The awards ceremony and entertainment will be hosted by Carrie Logan, City of Santa Clarita Communications Director. Each winner will receive a specially designed prize as well as a gift bag filled with gift cards and merchandise donated by local businesses. In addition, several high school seniors who plan to be teachers in the future will be recognized for selection as SCVEF/Baker Family Scholarship recipients.

Teacher Honors honors one teacher from each of 54 public schools selected by their peers and principals. The teachers of the year 2022-23 are:

Castaic Union School District

• Castaic Elementary School: Dakota Barnes

• Castaic Middle School: Debbie Rubel

• Live Oak Elementary: Mary Edison

• Northlake Hills Elementary School: Kate Boron

Newhall County School

• McGrath Elementary: Melinda Zook

• Meadows Elementary School: Lisa Johnson

• Newhall Elementary School: Michelle Vasquez

• Oak Hills Elementary School: Jennifer Lopez

Old Orchard Elementary School: Holly Johnson

• Beachland Elementary School: Melissa Mercy

• Pico Canyon Elementary: Debbie Walsh

• Stevenson Ranch Elementary School: Daniel Klein

• Valencia Valley Elementary: Daniel Roth

• Willie Canyon Elementary: Leanne Mohr

Saugus Union School District

• Bridgeport Elementary School: Shelly Dolder

Cedar Creek Elementary School: Jacqueline Haynes

• Emblem Academy: Elizabeth Ketterle

• Charles Helmers Elementary School: Megan Bean

• Highland Elementary School: Kimberly Harada

• James Foster Elementary School: Christine Ivey

• Mountain View Elementary: Jessica Smith

• North Park Elementary: Caitlin Hatchett

• Plum Canyon Elementary: Elizabeth Mills

• Rio Vista Elementary School: Jenner Iguinduaka

Rosedale Elementary School: Lisa Jensen

• Santa Clarita Elementary School: Erin Wiseman

• Skyblue Mesa Elementary School: Kristin Walston

• Tesoro del Valle Elementary School: Christine Denny

Westcreek Academy: Heather Mickelson

Sulfur Springs Union School District

• Canyon Springs Community: Anne Marie McKinley

• Fair Oaks Ranch Community: Penny McRea

• Golden Oak Society: Susan Adachi

Leona Cox Society: Debbie Gilkey

• Mint Canyon Community: Chris Wrightmeyer

• Mitchell Society: Sherri Hanks

• Pinetree Community: Tracy Ahart

• Sulfur Springs Community: Jada Dunn

• Valley View Community: Mary Giacoletto

William S. School District. Hart Union High School

Valleys Academy: Michel Sinner

• Arroyo Seco Jr. Hi: Angela Welch

• Bowman High School: Katrina Scar

• Canyon High School: Ryan Mishkat (left of Hart District)

• Castaic High School: David Williams

• Golden Valley High School: Mikael Olsen

• Hart High School: Paula Bay

• La Mesa Junior High: Desiree Love

Learning Post Academy: Scott Davidson

• Placerita Junior High: Laura Schultz

• Rancho Pico Junior High: Tracy O’Connell

• Rio Norte Jr. High: Heather Cruz

Saugus High School: Megan Bouton

• Sierra Vista Junior High: Ian Harper

• Valencia High School: Daniel Lahey

• West Ranch High School: Laura Erickson (retired)