ICABP and ICAD announce the 2023 Awards for Innovation in Education

Goff Justice announces a $20 million expansion of nursing education programs

Img 1172 Scaled
The Iowa City Area Business Partnership and the Iowa City Area Development Group will hold their Innovation in Education Awards Gala on April 26 at the Englert Theatre. Business Partnership in the Iowa City Credit District.

The Iowa City Area Business Partnership (ICABP) and the Iowa City Area Development Group (ICAD) have announced the educators, students, staff, school groups, and organizations that will be honored at their annual Innovation in Education Awards.

tThe Education Innovation Awards are part of the ICABP and ICAD Efforts to grow and enhance Johnson County by supporting a strong and innovative education system that develops local talent. For more than 25 years, the awards have honored the efforts of those shaping the future of K-12 education in society. The concert will take place at 6 p.m. on April 26 at the Englert Theatre.

The winners of the Education Innovation Awards are:

  • The Inspire Award will be presented to Alyssa Meggett (North Central Junior High School), Ann Schaefer (Iowa City High School), Danielle Leiken (Liberty High School), Marian McGrane (Liberty High School), and Tracy Elmer (Weber Elementary School). The award is given to educators who inspire, excite, and influence students to learn through exceptional, unprecedented, or exceptional programs and/or create an innovative, future-focused classroom.
  • Greg Gelbaugh (Christian Heritage School), Melissa Ziegolowski (Alexander Elementary School), and Tunis May (Liberty High School) will receive the Spark Award. The award recognizes individuals who go above and beyond to create a learning environment where all students have the opportunity to succeed, and all instructors feel free to innovate.
  • Reem Kamil Kirga (Iowa Western High School) and Ava Graf (Iowa City West High) will be awarded the Student Innovation Award, which honors students for their achievements and efforts to go above and beyond during the 2022-23 school year. Winners demonstrate a growth mindset, empathy, and desire to raise the bar for others.
  • Ann Ellinger (Wilowwind School), Becky Suchomel (Liberty High School), and Colene Feldman (Lone Tree Community School District) will receive the Administrative/Support Staff Excellence Award, which recognizes exemplary service of dedicated administrative assistants or staff who promote positive positivity . learning and supportive environment in their school.
  • VIVED Learning will receive the EdTech Company of the Year Award, which honors an Iowa City-area education technology company that has demonstrated or facilitated classroom innovation, supported the growth of the Iowa City area as an education technology hub, and provided a return to our community.
  • Tim Sheeley (Solon Middle and High School) will be awarded the STEM Innovator Award, which It showcases the creative innovations of the program that facilitate problem-based teaching and enhanced learning.
  • James Postman (Van Allen Elementary School) and Matt Hartman (Van Allen Elementary School) Welwind The school will be awarded an impact award. The award is given to a school group that espouses three primary goals: inspiration, innovation, and achievement. Their pursuit of these first three goals culminates in the fourth goal: IMPACT on teachers, students and their community.
  • Doug Lestina (Iowa City Community School District) and Branch Anthony (MMA Youth Spark!) will be awarded the K-12 Mental Health Innovation Award. The award is given to a program, group, or leader that addresses the significant challenge of stress, anxiety, depression, or other mental health issues in K-12 students.
  • Kay Lindsley (Wilwind School), Lucy Mordecai (Abbas International Center for Healing) and The Good Shepherd Center will receive an Early Childhood Innovation Award in recognition of outstanding child care providers and programs for their commitment to building the foundation children need to do well. possible start in life.

The awards are made possible by major sponsor Midwest Dental and supporting sponsors Pearson, GreenState Credit Union, University of Iowa Health Care, Dr. Suzanne Stock – Orthodontist and University of Iowa College of Education.

For more information or to register for the event, visit ICABP website.

previous articleIowaWORKS – Connecting Veterans with Businesses