Elections Office Primary preparations | News, sports, jobs

City says 7,000 summer jobs are available for Boston youth ages 14 to 18

The Warren County Elections Office is preparing for the May primary.

Monday, May 1, is the last day to register to vote for the Tuesday, May 16 primary.

Elections Director Kristel Ransom said her office is conducting a logic and accuracy test on voting equipment in the county this week.

Mail-in ballot applications and absentee ballots continue to be sent to the office.

“We have about 1,200 mail-in and absentee applications,” Ransom said. The figure for the November general election was about 1,700.

The last day to register for the mail ballot is Tuesday, May 9. She said.

The municipal primary will feature a number of state and local races.

All three Warren County commissioner seats are up this year, with only one incumbent — Tricia Durbin — running for re-election.

Republican voters will see Durbin’s name, along with those of Ken Clacamp, Troy Clawson, Joseph Perrine, Jeff Ashburn and Will Champlin.

Democrats will only see one candidate for commissioner – Dan Glotz – in the voting-two position.

There are six seats on the Warren County School Board up for election.

District 1 voters from both major parties will see John Wortman and nobody on the ballot for one seat.

In the second region, there are two terms of four years each and a term of up to two years. All candidates are front-runners and will appear on both the Republican and Democratic ballots. They are incumbents Donna Zarechny and Joe Colosimo and the nominees, Tammy Holden and Stephanie Snell, for a four-year term, and Zarechny, Colosimo and Savannah Cochran for the seat for a two-year term.

Third District candidates compete for two seats with a term of four years each. They are: Christopher Hudak, Daniel Sullivan, and current incumbent Kevin Lindvay, who are all acquaintances, and Wendy McQueen, who will only appear on Republican ballots.

There are two Republicans and no Democrats running for mayor — Ken Hinton and Scott Nisunger — and a registrar and registrant — Lisa Barr and Jolene Eichmann.

Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox